24/7 Support: +977 9851014557 (Bharat)
(Free call/message on WhatsApp, Viber & Line)

Nepal Religion

Nepal was a Hindu Kingdom until 2008 reflecting the predominant influence of Hinduism in Nepal. However, the founder of Buddhism, Siddhartha Gautam, was also born in Kapilvastu of Nepal thus molding the culture of Nepal in its own unique Hindu-Buddhist blend. Muslims constitute the second largest population by faith. Then come the Christians and others like Sikhs, Roman Catholics, the followers of new religions like Bahai, etc. Thus, Nepal is a diverse country from religions point of view as well.

Still, the Nepali culture is heavily influenced by Hindu Buddhist philosophical outlook. Although Buddha was born in the low-land of Terai, most of the low land mid-hill population still follow Hinduism. But Nepali version of Hinduism is slight different from the Indian version if one takes into account of the different ways of celebrating the same festivals in Nepali mountains, in the plains, and across the border in India.

The Tibetan Buddhism prevails in the upper Himalayan region and some regions of the Mountains. The Kathmandu Valley is the perfect melting point for both these religions. The Death God Kalbhairava shows the influence of Mahayana Buddhism, Hinduism, and Tantrik practices.

However, the outskirts regions in the Mountains lower Himalayas still represent the Shamanic practices from pre-historic times. The Shamans who are called the Dhami Jhankri are still consulted by even city dwellers to cure their ailments related to health, business, other daily affairs. Even most of the educated population still believes in witchcrafts, witchdoctors.

The regions and monuments like the Durbar Squares of Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, the Pashupatinath, the Buddhist monasteries Swoyambhu Bouddhanath of Kathmandu have also been declared world heritage sites by the UNESCO.

Hindu: 80.6%
Buddhist: 10.7%
Muslim: 4.2%
Kirat (an indigenous Nepali religion, sometimes spelled Kirant): 4%
Christian: 0.5%
Jains, Sikhs, Bahais: 0.1%.
Not related to religion: 0.5%

The main gods in Hindu are:

Vishnu: the preserver, restorer and protector. His job is to keep the world in order. Vishnu is a blue skinned, four armed deity normally found resting on a serpent or floating in the ocean. His vehicle is the half man half eagle Garuda.

Krishna: has many guises but normally he appears as a playful cow herder who seduces and dances with cow girls. Krishna possess the three routes to salvation, selflessness of action, knowledge and devotion to god.

Shiva: is revered as the source of the universe and as the destroyer, also know as the divine lord, the lord of dance, the source of all knowledge and the great god. In appearance he has 4-5 faces and holds a trident, is draped with a serpent and he has a third eye on his fore head. His animal vehicle is Nandi the bull.

Ganesh: the god of learning, success, prosperity and peace. He is the smiling elephant headed god.

Lakshmi: Is the embodiment of loveliness, grace and charm. She is the goddess of prosperity and wealth.

Durga: the great goddess with ten arms. She holds the head of a demon, a spear and other weapons. She is known as the demon slayer.

The religion is broken up into a system of Castes. The extent and way in which a person practices Hinduism depends upon which caste a person belongs.

What Our Clients Say?

The quickest way to the top of the world

We wanted to see Mt Everest close from the base camp without the 14 day trek. And this is the most exciting way to go, by helicopter. Early morning start from Kathmandu (1364m) to Lukla airport to refuel (altitude 2860m) and then to the Everest Base camp 5290m with…

Read More

Quick Enquiry